Why I Support Proposition 8

Digital media is new and a little strange to me. I used to make fun of my friends for blogging, and now look, I have my own blog!  My purpose in blogging is to educate others about the importance of Proposition 8, the California ballot initiative that will amend the California Constitution to state that only marriage between a man and a woman is legal or valid in California.

Although I am not eloquent, I am firm in my beliefs.  As a father and elementary school teacher, one of my biggest concerns is the unintended consequences of supporting same-sex marriage, meaning voting against Prop 8.  At first, it sounds harmless.  Why shouldn’t we allow any two individuals who love each other to marry?  But, it’s larger than that.  In redefining marriage to be between any two people who love each other, we are rewriting school curriculum.

If Proposition 8 does not pass, teachers will be required by law to put it on equal footing with traditional marriage as they teach about family life.  In the Human Growth and Development unit, we will be required to teach about not just sex between a man and a woman, but between a man and a man or between a woman and a woman.

Think this is far-fetched?  It already happened in Massachusetts.  And what’s disturbing to me in that case is that a kindergartner was taught about same-sex relationships without parental notification.  When the parents complained, the school told the parents by law they didn’t have to be notified, BECAUSE same-sex marriage was the law in Massachusetts.

See the full video at

7 comments so far

  1. Lori on

    Great message! Marriage should always be between a MAN and a WOMAN! I too have a blog and have NO idea what I am doing. I enjoy seeing others like myself (and you) just going for it! Visit my blog if you get a chance – akinas4prop8.wordpress.com

  2. Laura on

    Scary business! Go Prop. 8!

  3. nrl4prop8 on

    Thank you for expressing your opinion about this subject. I firmly agree with you. Keep up the good work. nrl4Prop8.wordpress.com.

  4. beetlebabee on

    This issue is such a huge one. I really believe this fight is the fight of our generation.

    If we allow the gay lobby to define the gay marriage moral issue as a civil rights issue, those fundamental social changes that came with other civil rights will inevitably follow. Will those of us with differing opinions on marriage now be discriminated against? Are we so naïve as to think that once something is deemed a “civil right” that it will have a lesser effect on society than any other civil right?

    My sister recently stood up as a private citizen in support of traditional marriage and was immediately targeted by activists in the gay community. She got hate mail at her house, that for weeks has continued. Who would do that? It’s unfathomable to me, but that’s not the worst of it. They looked up her name and her husband’s name online and found her photography business information. Her business was inundated with requests to perform her photography services at gay weddings in direct opposition to her beliefs, with the threat of discrimination lawsuits if she refused. This new “civil right” protection trumps her right to religion and free speech in the law.

    Personally, I don’t see Proposition 8 taking anything away from civil unions or partner laws. I see Proposition 8 as separate from the gay issue. It’s more about legal protection for those of us who would rather have private matters be private and who wish to preserve our own free speech and freedom of religion rights. As I watch the ads go by, one way and another, I’m forced to ask myself, do we really know what sorts of consequences will come from altering the traditional definition of marriage?

    If we allow the gay lobby to define the gay marriage moral issue as a civil rights issue, those fundamental social changes that came with other civil rights will inevitably follow. Will those of us with differing opinions on marriage now be discriminated against? Are we so naïve as to think that once something is deemed a “civil right” that it will have a lesser effect on society than any other civil right?

    My sister recently stood up as a private citizen in support of traditional marriage and was immediately targeted by activists in the gay community. She got hate mail at her house, that for weeks has continued. Who would do that? It’s unfathomable to me, but that’s not the worst of it. They looked up her name and her husband’s name online and found her photography business information. Her business was inundated with requests to perform her photography services at gay weddings in direct opposition to her beliefs, with the threat of discrimination lawsuits if she refused. This new “civil right” protection trumps her right to religion and free speech in the law.

    Personally, I don’t see Proposition 8 taking anything away from civil unions or partner laws. I see Proposition 8 as separate from the gay issue. It’s more about legal protection for those of us who would rather have private matters be private and who wish to preserve our own free speech and freedom of religion rights. To see the issue as just an issue of “love” ignores the legal behemoth that attends it.

    I’m so glad to see fellow supporters joining the cause!
    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/

  5. Karen Smith on

    As a parent and a grandparent, we need to help our children. I too am worried what will be taught in schools if Prop 8 fails. Thank you for reminding people that this issue could be very harmful to children.
    Vote Yes on Prop 8.

  6. Bethany on

    Thinking of how very impressionable my three year old is, it is terrifying to me to know that she could be taught concepts that go against everything my family believes in at school. Turning marriage and questions of sexuality into something that has to be discussed in schools will, I think, only serve to confuse our children more. This is an issue that doesn’t just affect gay couples, as much as opponents of Prop 8 would like to tell us it’s an isolated issue.

  7. […] teacher be “married” to her life partner. Yes, this is very shocking and if Prop 8 fails, this (Gay and Lesbian Marriage) will be mandated to be taught in every public school in California as the same as Traditional Marriage (Between one Man and one […]


Leave a Reply

