Governor’s New Attack On Education

image from cache.daylife.com

image from cache.daylife.com

Schwarzenegger Proposes Five Fewer School Days

In a move that further demonstrates his misplaced priorities, Governor Schwarzenegger announced his brilliant plan to balance the budget –
shorten the school year by 5 days!

Governor, have you visited any schools lately? No, not the ones your children attend – the ones in downtown Los Angeles, Oakland, and San Francisco. The students are struggling to stay on grade level, despite the best efforts of parents and teachers. Speak to teachers! What I hear universally is the comment, “If I only had more time!” We need MORE time with these students, not less. Extend the school day, extend the school year, then pay us teachers what we’re worth! We’ll show you results!

We are educating California’s future leaders. They can save this great state, but they need the knowledge and the education to do it. We teachers can give it to them, IF you give us the respect and time we need. Please, leave these children out of your budget crisis – they didn’t cause the problem, so stop making them pay to fix it.

6 comments so far

  1. cschande on

    Wow. Check out Arnie’s ring, too. This guy’s been one disappointment after another in California.

    By the way, I really enjoy reading your blog. Keep up the good work.

    I’ve just started a new blog that will be highlighting the dangerous advances of the secular progressive movement (pro-gay “rights”, pro-abortion, anti-religious freedoms, etc). Unfortunately, most Christians still don’t know what’s going on out there and the mainstream media certainly isn’t covering it.

    We’re looking to build a solid group of social conservatives who’ll frequent our site regularly and contribute to some good discussions. I hope you’ll check us out!

    If you’ll add us to your blogroll we’ll gladly add you to ours. Just drop us a comment over at our blog so that we’ll know to add you. Our blog is called Religion and Morality.

    Thanks!

  2. beetlebabee on

    I have to admit, Arnold has been somewhat of a disappointment as a governor. For a blue state, I guess it’s pretty good that we got a republican, but he’s not much of a republican.

    My mother looks at him and shakes her fist at southern california. “Los Angeles always gets what they want!” Everywhere else the state is pretty much red. Just the coast. I’d make a joke here about how a couple of earthquakes creating some fresh new coastline further inland would solve a lot of the budget crisis, but I actually live on the fault line so….

  3. Emissary on

    I think this is a great idea. We just need to be very selective in which 5 days we eliminate. I propose one of them should be GLAD day (gay & lesbian awareness day), and another should be the Day of Silence (put on by GLSEN).

  4. Pearl on

    Ha ha! I like Emissary’s idea. :0)

  5. journalista chronicle on

    I agree too! And they can eliminate a week of sex-ed while they’re at it. In the school district where my Mom teaches first grade, they have eliminated essentially everything “extra” art, music, social studies, etc, because well, most of the students can’t even speak English, so they focus on language, math and reading. There are a lot of title 1 schools in the state that have done the same thing, but are they cutting all the fat? Thankfully my Mom has not had to quit her job yet, since they haven’t had a gay day at her school, but I find it interesting that at so many schools, they cut art, music, and fun stuff, but still manage to have gay day and teach about homosexual parents. The priorities in the public school system are so amiss….

  6. Participant on

    I am very against cutting the school year down by five. That doesn’t seem like a very good idea at all. I have taught at an inter-city school in East LA (my students carried a lot of burdens on them). I also agree with a lot of people’s statements; we should NOT get rid of art, music, etc. These are so essential to a child’s development. These are our future leaders.
    It’s so frustrating because I know we are hurting for money, and nobody wants their pet project cut (although I think we can all agree that education is something we can all get behind). I have heard some talk about cutting the week down to four days, and yet extending the day. I am not sure how I feel about this (will the kids be able to pay attention? How will working parents be able to watch their kids on Friday if they are at work? etc) but I think it is at least more proactive than cutting school days all together!


Leave a Reply

